Sounder Events Calendar starting February 19, 2020

Wednesday, February 19 2020

The Sounder Events Calendar is updated on Wednesdays.
Listings are $10/wk or get four weeks for $35.
For listings longer than 25 words, extra words are 20 cents each.
To submit: Call 250-247-9337 or email derek@soundernews.com

 

Upcoming Events

Fri., Feb. 21 - 2019 Substance Use Guidelines for Canadian Older Adults: What You Might Want to Know. (Alcohol, Benzodiazepines, Opioids, Cannabis). Part of the the PHC New Age of Aging series. Presenters: Lori Amdam, M.S.N. Advance Practice Nurse & Clinical Educator and Dr. Liz Drance, Geriatric Psychiatrist. 1-3pm at the Rollo Centre. Register by email: seniors@phcgabriola.org or leave msg at 250-325-9010. Suggested donation $2.

Fri., Feb. 21 - Where Does That Werd Come From? 1:30-2:30 at the Gabriola Library. Every word has a story to tell! David Hobson will lead us through some of the amazing journeys that bring us words we use every day.

Fri., Feb. 21, Sat., Feb. 22, and Sun., Feb. 23 - Stretched - the Art Show. GAC Arts and Heritage Hall. 476 South Road. Fri 7pm to 9pm with wine & cheese. Saturday 10am-4pm. Sunday 11am-3pm.

Sat., Feb. 22 - Gabriola Library Film – The End of Meat. 2-4pm. This free documentary screening is presented by The Gabriola Vegeteers.

Thurs., Feb. 27 - Fibre Arts Circle at the Library. 2-4 pm. Bring your projects and enjoy an afternoon of tea and crafting with other fibre enthusiasts. Beginners and newcomers welcome. Free, drop in.

Sat., Feb 29 - Meat Draw and 50/50 for the Gabriola Auxiliary for Island Health Care. 3:30pm at the Skol Pub.

Sun,. Mar. 1 - Gabriola Horse Group networking meeting. 10am – 1 pm at the Agi Hall, for horse owners of all disciplines. Resources, workshop and clinic information, and tack sale/trade.

Tues., Mar. 3 - GaLTT presents “Climate Change and the Gulf Islands Environment” a talk by Dr. Richard Hebda. 7pm at the Golf Course; public admission by donation. Followed by GaLTT AGM at 8.15pm.

Sun., Mar. 8 - Gabriola Talks. Join your fellow Gabriolans to help create strategies for reducing our climate impacts. Childcare, refreshments. 1-4 pm, Community Hall. Preregistration required at: gabriola-talks-climate-crisis.eventbrite.ca

Sun., Mar. 8 - Manual Cinema presents: Frankenstein. A Special Canadian Premiere Presentation at the Port Theatre. In what will be a most unique live experience and monstrous feast for the senses, internationally-renowned multimedia company Manual Cinema will stitch together the classic story of Frankenstein with Mary Shelley’s own biography to create an unexpected story about the beauty and horror of creation. Show starts at 7:30pm. Tickets at the Port Theatre box office or online at porttheatre.com

Weekly Events

Wednesdays - Family Storytime at Gabriola Library. 10:30-11:00. Drop in with your little one for fun stories, songs, and rhymes. Stay afterwards for free play and visiting. Best suited for ages 5 and under with their parents or caregivers.

Wednesdays – Tech Help at the Library. 11:30am-1:30pm. Free help for those in need! Space limited. Please call 250.247.7878 to book your 30-minute appointment.

Thursdays - French Conversation Circle at the Gabriola Library. 1pm to 2pm.

Fridays - Teen Drop In at the HOPE Centre (Blue Building). 7pm-Midnight. Teen recreation for teens aged 13-18.  For more info email Andrea at nstar5@hotmail.com

Every Second Sunday - GaLTT trail-work crews. 1:30pm to 3:30pm. See www.galtt.ca or GaLTT Facebook page for details. Bring your own tools or borrow ours.

Peer Led Exercise Program:  Winter Schedule. Mon & Wed at Hope Centre, 11am-12pm, Fri at Community Hall, 10:45am-11:45am. Contact Suzette, 250-325-1675, s.delmage@shaw.ca.

AA meetings - Fridays at Noon (12pm) upstairs at Robert’s Place. Sundays, Wednesdays, and Fridays at 7pm downstairs at the Commons. Tuesdays and Thursdays at 9am upstairs at Robert’s. For information contact 250-753-7513.

Gabriola Home Hospice Program Companions in Grief Support Group - If you are experiencing grief and would like to come for support to this safe and understanding group, please contact Claudia at homehospice@phcgabriola.org

Caregiver Support group for family and friends of people living with dementia. First and Third Thursday of the month: 10:30 to noon in the Community Health Centre. For information call Jane Hope, 1-800-462-2833, jhope@alzheimerbc.org

Community Drop-in Sports 

from the Gabriola Recreation Society

In the Gabriola Elementary School Gym.

Mondays: Basketball: 6:30 – 8:30; Drop-In $5. Ages 14+

Tuesdays: Badminton: 6:30 – 8; Drop-In $5. Ages 14+

Wednesdays: Indoor Soccer: 6:30 – 8; Drop-In $5. Ages 6 to 106

Thursdays: Volleyball: 6:30 – 8:30; Drop-In $4. Ages 14+

www.gabriolarecreation.org

 

Coming Later in 2020

Saturday, March 14 - Pi Day (3.14) with Island Meat and Deli

Thurs., Apr. 2 - Sun., Apr. 12 - Isle of the Arts Festival with Gabriola Arts Council

Sun., Apr. 12 - Easter Sunday, annual Easter Egg Hunt details TBA.

Sun., May 10 - Mother's Day.

Sat., May 16 to Monday, May 18 - Victoria Day Long Weekend. Opening weekend for the Gabriola Farmers' Market at the Agi Hall.

Sat., Jun. 6 and Sun., Jun. 7 - Friends of the Library Book Sale at the Community Hall.

Sun., Jun. 7 - Ocean's Day at the Descanso Bay Regional Park.

Sun., Jun. 21 - Father's Day.

Wed., July 1 - Canada Day.

Mon., Aug. 2 - BC Day

Thurs., Aug. 6 - Gabriola Lions Concert on the Green.

Sat., Aug. 8 - Gabriola Island Community Hall Annual Salmon BBQ

Sun., Aug. 9 - Gabriola Cruisers Annual Show n Shine car (and other vehicles) show.

Mon., Sept. 7 - Labour Day

Sat., Oct. 10 - Mon., Oct. 12 - Annual Thanksgiving Studio Tour on Gabriola from the Gabriola Arts Council.

Tues., Oct. 31 - Halloween. Date for Gabriola Firefighters Halloween Fireworks show TBA.

Sat., Nov. 28 - Artisan Christmas Fair at the Rollo Centre.

Sat., Dec. 5 - PAC Christmas Fair at the Gabriola Elementary School.

Fri., Dec. 25 - Christmas Day and PHC Spirit Feast.

Fri., Jan. 1, 2021 - Annual Polar Bear Swim at Twin Beaches at 12 Noon.