Sounder Events Calendar starting January 15, 2020

Wednesday, January 15 2020

The Sounder Events Calendar is updated on Wednesdays.
Listings are $10/wk or get four weeks for $35.
For listings longer than 25 words, extra words are 20 cents each.
To submit: Call 250-247-9337 or email derek@soundernews.com

 

Upcoming Events

Sat., Jan. 18 - The End of Meat. 2-4pm. This free documentary screening is presented by The Gabriola Vegeteers at the Gabriola Library.

Sat., Jan. 18 - Wassailing of the Apple Trees - A free Community Celebration with Beggar’s Drum and the Drumbeggar Border Morris Dancers plus the Release of Gabbie’s new community-grown Batch 1018 Vintage Cider. Join us from 4-7pm, at Ravenskill Orchards, 1240 Coats Drive. The Wassailing Parade will begin promptly at 4:15pm.

Sat., Jan. 18 - Meat Draw and 50/50 for the Gabriola Auxiliary for Island Health Care. 3:30pm at the Skol.

Mon., Jan. 20 - Unikkaaqtuat, a tribute to the Inuit Tale. Mixing Circus, Arts, Music and Inuit Culture. 7:30pm. A Port Theatre Spotlight Series performance. Get tickets 250-754-8550 or online at port theatre.com or at the Port Theatre Box Office.

Tues., Jan. 21 - Fred Eaglesmith and Tif Ginn. Fred will be appearing with his wife Tif Ginn at The Roxy at 7:30 pm, doors at 7 pm. Tickets are $30 and are available at North Road Sports.

Wed., Jan. 22 & 29 - Tech Tutorials at the Gabriola Library. 11:30am-1:30pm. Free tech help for those in need! Space limited. Call 250-247-7878 to book a 30-minute appointment.

Fri., Jan. 24 - Send Off Party for Michelle Benjamin and Maggie Mooney. Drop-in anytime between 4pm and 8pm. At the Surf Hall in the Surf Lodge.

Fri. Jan 24 - Roxy Coffeehouse featuring songbird/songwriter, Penny Sidor with guests Jeremy fiddle, Jake bass. Open Stage 6:30, Feature 8:30, $10

Thurs., Jan. 30 - Fibre Arts Circle at the Gabriola Library. 2-4 pm. Bring your projects and enjoy an afternoon of tea and crafting with other fibre enthusiasts. Beginners and newcomers welcome. Free, drop in.

Thurs., Jan. 31 - Palette People Art Cafe. 685 North Road. 10-12 noon. Guest artist: Hillary Farmer with oil painting demonstration. Come and relax with an interesting art talk at the Cafe with biscuits. By small donation.

Fri., Jan. 31 - TerraZetto Trio hosting at the Roxy. 7 - 9:30pm. This rhythmic, playful, multi instrumental group brings world music in English, French and Portuguese. Doors open at 6:45, tickets $15 at the door.

Wed. & Thurs. & Fri., Feb. 5, 6 & 7 – Twilight Radio Theatre – Valentine’s Double Bill. Old time radio dramas performed live by Adam Kerby, Chris Jans, David Botten and Kathy McIntyre, at the Surf Lodge. 7:30pm. Tix $20- from North Road Sports and the Surf Lodge. For pre-show dinner reservations call 250-247-9231.

Sat., Feb. 22 - Sheila Norgate’s “Mrs. Frank Hokum: Better Living Through Improved Hostessing.” At the Rollo Centre. Tickets now available at North Road Sports. $20 each. 

Weekly Events

Till Thurs., Feb. 6 - The Group of Several, 7 members, are hanging the series of Seagulls, titled “A Clamour of Gulls” at the Church Street Medical Clinic. Featuring Randi Lynch, Judith Madsen, Barb Hague, Janet Johnson, and Esther Robison.

Wednesdays - Family Playtime at the Gabriola Library. January 8 and 15. 10:30am - 11:30am. Drop by with your littles for some play and visiting time with others. This is a Free, drop in event. January 22 and 29 will be Family Storytime.

Thursdays - French Conversation Circle at the Gabriola Library. 1pm to 2pm.

Fridays - Teen Drop In at the HOPE Centre (Blue Building). 7pm-Midnight. Teen recreation for teens aged 13-18.  For more info email Andrea at nstar5@hotmail.com

Every Second Sunday - GaLTT trail-work crews. 1:30pm to 3:30pm. See www.galtt.ca or GaLTT Facebook page for details. Bring your own tools or borrow ours.

Peer Led Exercise Program:  Winter Schedule. Mon & Wed at Hope Centre, 11am-12pm, Fri at Community Hall, 10:45am-11:45am. Contact Suzette, 250-325-1675, s.delmage@shaw.ca.

AA meetings - Fridays at Noon (12pm) upstairs at Robert’s Place. Sundays, Wednesdays, and Fridays at 7pm downstairs at the Commons. Tuesdays and Thursdays 8am-9am upstairs at Robert’s. For information contact 250-753-7513.

Gabriola Home Hospice Program Companions in Grief Support Group - If you are experiencing grief and would like to come for support to this safe and understanding group, please contact Claudia at homehospice@phcgabriola.org

Caregiver Support group for family and friends of people living with dementia. First and Third Thursday of the month: 10:30 to noon in the Community Health Centre. For information call Jane Hope, 1-800-462-2833, jhope@alzheimerbc.org

Community Drop-in Sports 

from the Gabriola Recreation Society

In the Gabriola Elementary School Gym.

Mondays: Basketball: 6:30 – 8:30; Drop-In $5. Ages 14+

Tuesdays: Badminton: 6:30 – 8; Drop-In $5. Ages 14+

Wednesdays: Indoor Soccer: 6:30 – 8; Drop-In $5. Ages 6 to 106

Thursdays: Volleyball: 6:30 – 8:30; Drop-In $4. Ages 14+

www.gabriolarecreation.org

 

 

Coming Later in 2020

Monday, February 17 - Family Day in BC

Saturday, March 14 - Pi Day (3.14) with Island Meat and Deli

Thurs., Apr. 2 - Sun., Apr. 12 - Isle of the Arts Festival with Gabriola Arts Council

Sun., Apr. 12 - Easter Sunday, annual Easter Egg Hunt details TBA.

Sun., May 10 - Mother's Day.

Sat., May 16 to Monday, May 18 - Victoria Day Long Weekend. Opening weekend for the Gabriola Farmers' Market at the Agi Hall.

Sat., Jun. 6 and Sun., Jun. 7 - Friends of the Library Book Sale at the Community Hall.

Sun., Jun. 7 - Ocean's Day at the Descanso Bay Regional Park.

Sun., Jun. 21 - Father's Day.

Wed., July 1 - Canada Day.

Mon., Aug. 2 - BC Day

Thurs., Aug. 6 - Gabriola Lions Concert on the Green.

Sat., Aug. 8 - Gabriola Island Community Hall Annual Salmon BBQ

Sun., Aug. 9 - Gabriola Cruisers Annual Show n Shine car (and other vehicles) show.

Mon., Sept. 7 - Labour Day

Sat., Oct. 10 - Mon., Oct. 12 - Annual Thanksgiving Studio Tour on Gabriola from the Gabriola Arts Council.

Tues., Oct. 31 - Halloween. Date for Gabriola Firefighters Halloween Fireworks show TBA.

Sat., Nov. 28 - Artisan Christmas Fair at the Rollo Centre.

Sat., Dec. 5 - PAC Christmas Fair at the Gabriola Elementary School.

Fri., Dec. 25 - Christmas Day and PHC Spirit Feast.

Fri., Jan. 1, 2021 - Annual Polar Bear Swim at Twin Beaches at 12 Noon.