Museum Launches new Guidebook of Gabriola’s Historic Sites

Ivan Bulic

Gabriola Museum

Tuesday, August 1 2017

Gray Farm on South Road is the oldest farm in BC continuously operated by the same family.

For more than 2,000 years, members of the Snuneymuxw First Nations lived in the False Narrows village of Tle:ltx’w near today’s El Verano neighbourhood.

And the spot where Spanish sailors first dropped anchor in 1792 was Pilot Bay, not Descanso Bay, as erroneously listed in the official Canada Gazette.

These are only a few of the stories in Travelling Through Time, the Gabriola Museum’s new guidebook of Gabriola’s historic sites which will be launched at 2 pm on Saturday, August 05 at the Gabriola Library.

Long-time Gabriolans John Capon, Phyllis Reeve, Joyce White and Jenni Gelhbach contributed articles for the guidebook, while research by Nick Doe and Barrie Humphrey in the pages of the Museum journal SHALE formed the basis of many of the remaining stories.

The guidebook drafts were proofed by Alison Douglas and Gloria Filax, while Museum Archivist Janet Stobbs searched the archives collections for the more than 50 unique historic images that illustrate the publication.

The historic sites listed in the guidebook will also be enhanced by up to a dozen historic markers that will be set up at historic sites around the island between now and Spring 2018.

Production of Travelling Through Time and the historic markers is supported by the BC Museum’s Association, the Government of British Columbia and Canada|150. 

They position Gabriola Island as a key part of province wide initiatives to celebrate BC communities and their contributions to Canada.