Elder Geraldine Manson nominated for Stewardship award

Islands Trust

Press Release

Wednesday, June 12 2019

Snuneymuxw Elder Geraldine Manson spoke at the Season Opening of the Gabriola Museum on the 2019 May Long Weekend. Derek Kilbourn photo


Snuneymuxw Elder Geraldine Manson is one of six individuals and five organizations nominated under the 16th Islands Trust Community Stewardship Awards Program. 

Manson is being nominated from Gabriola Island, celebrating nineteen years of knowledge holding and sharing.

Elder Manson was nominated by Gabriolans April Vannini and Gloria Filax.

In her nomination they write, “Snuneymuxw Elder Geraldine Manson (C’tasi:a) is nominated for her continued work over the past nineteen years working as a volunteer with the Gabriola Historical and Museum Society (GHMS). Geraldine is well-versed in the land of Gabriola as she holds the knowledge passed down from her ancestors and oral history that gave her understanding about Snuneymuxw and Coast Salish territory.

“Elder Manson’s relationship with all organizations, committees and groups throughout Gabriola is grounded in the wisdom shared with her through traditional teachings and protocol. These teachings support ways of learning together in a mutual respectful and collaborative process. Elder Manson has also been working with many community groups to share knowledge on how to work collaboratively with Snuneymuxw, and how to respect, acknowledge and honour the unceded territory on which we live today. Some other organizations she has also worked with are the Gabriola Arts Council, Truth and Reconciliation Speaker Series, and Vancouver Island University. She also provides opening blessings and welcome at Gabriola events, which connect residents of Gabriola to Snuneymuxw land and waters.”

The Stewardship program recognizes accomplishments that support the Islands Trust mandate to preserve and protect the Trust Area and its unique environment and amenities. 

Nominations honour activities that range from community-based work and conversation through to land and marine protection.

Peter Luckham, Chair of the Islands Trust Council said, “The islands in the Salish Sea are precious. The work of preserving and protecting these unique places is done by many in our communities. They do this work without expectation of reward and often go unsung.

“The Community Stewardship Awards is our chance to take a moment and recognize those efforts, particularly for those individuals and groups who have gone above and beyond to care for the environments or communities in their local trust area. These nominations came from their fellow islanders, making them, I believe, even more meaningful. I’m filled with gratitude and wish to thank the nominees for their efforts to ensure that this part of the world remains truly special.”

 The nominees are from Bowen, Gabriola, Galiano, Lasqueti, Salt Spring, Saturna, and Thetis islands.

Joining Elder Manson in the individual nominations are:

Andrew Fall, Lasqueti Island: celebrating eight years of dedicated community-based work.

Andrew Simon, Galiano Island: creating a “living field guide.”

Bruce Russell, Bowen Island: ten years of leadership with the Mannion Bay Restoration Project.

Christine Torgrimson, Salt Spring Island: celebrating conservation leadership

Mark Bottomley, Lasqueti Island: reducing marine pollution in the Salish Sea.

Organizations nominated for awards are:

Aloha Aina Farm, Salt Spring Island: a permaculture, organic farming teaching and connecting community.

Saturna Community Club Recycling Centre, Saturna Island: celebrating 44 years of recycling services.

Saturna Lions Club, Saturna Island: 45 years of community service.

Saturna Scribbler, Saturna Island: 25 years of connecting community.

Thetis Island Nature Conservancy Society, Thetis Island: land acquisition and conservation efforts for Fairyslipper Forest Nature Reserve. 

The Islands Trust Council will select the recipients of the award during its quarterly meeting on Galiano June 18-20, 2019. 

Visit www.islandstrust.bc.ca/csa to learn about this year’s nominees and past recipients.

Past winners of Stewardship Awards from Gabriola include: Liz Ciocea (2017)

Gabriola Arts Council (2017)

Susan Yates (2015)

Leigh Ann Milman (2015)

Island Futures Society (2015)

Chris and Judith Plant (2013)

Gabriola Island Health Care Foundation, Society, and Auxiliary (2012)

Jenny Brown McLeod (2007)