Out-of-this-world musical, Moonbound!, gets world premiere in May

Press Release

Single Lane Entertainment

Monday, April 28 2014

It’s not often the Salish Sea is the launching pad for a large-scale, original musical, but that’s what will happen in May and June with the world premiere of the musical Moonbound! 

Freely based on a novel by H.G. Wells, and over 10 years in the making, Moonbound! is presented by Over the Moon Theatricals, a consortium of local production companies and performing arts schools. 

“Moonbound! is a musical in the tradition of The Wizard of Oz or Wicked,” says Frank Moher, who wrote the book and lyrics and directs the production. “Kids will enjoy it, but there’s a lot in it for adults as well. 

“And it’s on the same scale as those musicals - big. To pull it off, we had to put together a production team that’s big too.” 

Starring Antonio Gradanti and Kathy McIntyre, supported by a cast of fifty-four (yes, fifty-four), Moonbound! follows an eccentric Victorian scientist and a hard-nosed London businesswoman on a surprise trip to the moon. There they find an unusual civilization living on the surface - and an even more extraordinary one living underground. 

A combination adventure story, love story and comic look at imperial folly, Moonbound! brings the fun of both sci-fi and musicals to the stage. 

Featured in the cast as earthlings, moon-types or both, are local performers Joelle Baird, Steve Elder, Jennifer Feenan, Sadie Gambrill, Bill Miner, Nick Schols and Cody Scott. Music is by Frank Moher and Antonio Gradanti, with choreography by Mara Brenner and out-of-this-world costume designs by Wendy Henderson. 

Moonbound! premieres May 23 at 7:30 p.m. and May 24 at 2:00 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. at The Haven on Gabriola Island. It then moves to Nanaimo for performances on June 6 at 7:30 p.m., June 7 at 2:00 p.m. and 7:30 p.m., and June 8 at 2:00 p.m. in the Malaspina Theatre at Vancouver Island University. Tickets cost $18 for adults, $15 for students and $10 for children, with a special family rate of $40 for two adults and two children. Tickets go on sale April 14 at http://moonboundmusical.com.  

Over the Moon Theatricals is a consortium of Single Lane Entertainment, Maragold Theatre Productions and Headliners School of the Performing Arts.