Islanders Recognized With Islands Trust Community Stewardship Awards

Islands Trust

Press Release

Tuesday, July 7 2015

Islands Trust Council announced the recipients of the 14th Community Stewardship Awards at its June 24 meeting on Galiano Island. 

This year, Trust Council recognized three individuals and four groups from among 17 nominees for their roles in upholding the Islands Trust’s mandate to protect and preserve Trust Area and its unique environment and amenities.

Gabriolans Susan Yates, Leigh Ann Milman, and the Island Futures Society for the GERTIE bus were among those chosen as recipients.

Activities recognized this year include protecting land, marine and cultural heritage; promoting agriculture, public transit and the arts; and volunteering to do research and public education in support of these and other community projects.

“The Community Stewardship Awards program gives us the opportunity to formally recognize islanders for their dedication and commitment to ensuring our unique island amenities, environment and culture are preserved for generations to come,” said Peter Luckham, Chair of the Islands Trust Council. “The task of choosing a few recipients from so many strong nominations was a very tough one. We applaud the contributions of every nominee, and those community members who did not wish to be formally recognized through our awards program. Today, we also thank the countless others who work tirelessly to enhance our islands.”

The seven recipients are from four local trust areas and include:

Individual Category

• Michael Dunn of Mayne Island, for fostering ecological and community sustainability for 20 years 

• Susan Yates of Gabriola Island, for contributing to literary arts and environmental stewardship for 30 years 

• Leigh Ann Milman of Gabriola Island, for leading land protection for 20 years

Organization Category

• Saturna Island Marine Research and Education Society, for marine research and education 

• Island Futures Society, for the Gabriola Environmentally Responsible Trans-Isle Express (GERTIE) bus service

Special Award for Advocacy and First Nations Relationship Building

• Protect Grace Islet Group, Salt Spring Island, for advocating for the protection of cultural heritage.

Enduring Achievement

• Mayne Island Agricultural Society, for promoting agriculture and the fall fair for 53 years 

The Community Stewardship Awards will be presented on the islands where the recipients live, at local trust committee meetings or other community events.

Since its inception in 2002, the Islands Trust Council has given 76 awards to individuals and organizations across the entire Trust Area.

Starting 2015, the program will run every two years, rather than annually, to increase the number of applicants in each round, while reducing program costs. The next award nominations will open in March 2017.